sylvia petz auf facebooksylvia petz auf instagramsylvia petz auf linkedinsylvia petz auf xing
Bildgalerien

Bird watching makes you happy


This year we were part of the Gut Hardegg estate team for the first time for the Europe-wide song & field bird count. A meaningful, joyful project that is borne by success and continues to grow. Growth in the most positive sense – for the good of all of us.

February 2021
Quick translation with DeepL

On Europe's agricultural land, the bird population has declined by 50 percent since the 1980s, while that in the forests has remained relatively constant. The decline in species can therefore be attributed with a relatively high degree of certainty to our intensive agriculture with its sprays and large heavy machinery. Numerous research projects are investigating the causes in detail in order to safeguard the biodiversity of the land and with it the bird population. One of these is the British "Big Farmland Bird Count" of the "Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust".

Maximilian Hardegg, owner of the Gut Hardegg estate, has been cooperating with the latter for a long time. Biodiversity on his land and in general is a matter close to his heart. That is why an annual bird count is carried out at Gut Hardegg in cooperation with the Big Farmland Bird Count. All amateur ornithologists are also called upon to participate. We had the pleasure of accompanying the project and filming the "nature walk" with Maximilian Hardegg and son Alexius. In the training (both films in German language) required for the census, one learns everything about the most important bird species and the habitats necessary for them. Even as a hobby gardener, you can contribute a lot - the greater the biodiversity in the smallest garden and the more natural the hedges and lawns (sic!), the more beneficial they are for our birds.

By the way, the perception of these little flying wonders is also good for the soul. The more we occupied ourselves with the birds and the more attentively we paid attention to them, the more joyfully we perceived each bird. Look, a robin! Did you see the goldfinch? That was the call of a woodpecker! This positive effect on our psyche is also confirmed by the highest authorities. Not long ago, for example, the World Economic Forum published the results of a study that said that watching birds makes you as happy as a pay rise. The authors calculated that spending time in the vicinity of 14 additional bird species provided as much satisfaction as an additional $150 per month in earnings. Brought to the point in a short Facebook video (1:23 minutes). So let's put up feeders, win-win for the birds and us!

Incidentally, there are also many bird houses hanging in the forests for feeding. If you are out and about with your eyes and ears open - where there is a lot of bird noise, there are usually feeding stations - you will find them. Naturally, there is a lot of activity there, and the variety of birds is impressive and pleasing. Speaking of, did you know that birds are the direct descendants of dinosaurs?

sylvia petz auf facebooksylvia petz auf instagramsylvia petz auf linkedinsylvia petz auf xing
Bildgalerien

Vögel beobachten macht glücklich


Heuer waren wir das erste Mal im Team des Guts Hardegg für die europaweite Sing- & Feldvögelzählung. Ein sinnstiftendes freudvolles Projekt, das von Erfolg getragen ist und immer größer wird. Wachstum in positivstem Sinne – für unser aller Wohl

Februar 2021

Auf den landwirtschaftlichen Flächen Europas hat der Vogelbestand seit den 1980er-Jahren um 50 Prozent abgenommen, der in den Wäldern ist relativ konstant. Der Artenrückgang ist also mit relativ großer Sicherheit auf unsere intensive Landwirtschaft mit ihren Spritzmitteln und großen schweren Maschinen zurückzuführen. Zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte ergründen die Ursachen im Detail, um die Biodiverstität der Flächen und mit ihr den Vogelbestand zu sichern. Eines davon ist der britische »Big Farmland Bird Count« des »Game & Wildlife Conservation Trust«.

Mit diesem kooperiert Maximilian Hardegg, Eigentümer des Guts Hardegg, schon lange. Ihm ist die Biodiversität auf seinen Flächen und im Allgemeinen eine Herzensangelegenheit. Auf Gut Hardegg wird deshalb jährlich in Kooperation mit dem Big Farmland Bird Count eine Vogelzählung durchgeführt. Auch alle Hobby-Ornitholog:innen sind aufgerufen, sich daran zu beteiligen. Wir hatten die Freude, das Projekt zu begleiten und den »Naturspaziergang« mit Maximilian Hardegg und Sohn Alexius filmisch zu gestalten. In der für die Zählung nötigen Schulung erfährt man alles zu den wichtigsten Vogelarten und den für sie nötigen Lebensräumen (Habitaten). Gerade auch als Hobbygärtner:in kann man vieles dazu beitragen - je größer die Biodiversität im noch so kleinen Garten und je naturnaher Hecken und Rasen (sic!) angelegt sind, umso förderlicher für unsere Vögel.

Die Wahrnehmung dieser kleinen fliegenden Wunder tut übrigens auch der Seele gut. Je mehr wir uns mit den Vögeln beschäftigten und je aufmerksamer wir auf sie achteten, umso freudiger nahmen wir jeden Vogel wahr. Da, ein Rotkehlchen! Hast du den Stieglitz gesehen? Das war der Ruf eines Spechtes! Dieser positive Effekt auf unsere Psyche wird übrigens auch von höchster Stelle bestätigt. So publizierte das World Economic Forum vor nicht langer Zeit Studienergebnisse, die besagen, dass das Beobachten von Vögeln so glücklich macht wie eine Gehaltserhöhung. Die Autoren berechneten, dass der Aufenthalt in der Nähe von 14 zusätzlichen Vogelarten so viel Befriedigung verschaffte wie ein zusätzlicher Verdienst von 150 Dollar pro Monat. Hier in einem kurzen Facebook-Video auf den Punkt gebracht (1:23 Minuten). Lassen Sie uns also Futterhäuschen aufhängen, win-win für die Vögel und uns!

Auch in den Wäldern hängen nebenbei bemerkt viele Vogelhäuschen zur Fütterung. Wer mit offenen Augen und Ohren - da wo viel Vogellärm herrscht, sind meist Futterstellen - unterwegs ist, findet sie. Dort tut sich naturgemäß besonders viel, die Vielfalt an Vögeln ist beeindruckend und erfreulich. Wussten Sie eigentlich, dass Vögel die direkten Nachkommen der Dinosaurier sind?

→ Zur NEWSLETTER-Anmeldung